Flip Card
Loading

They say that if nothing ever changed, there would be no butterflies. That’s as true for nature as it for organizations. This past year has been one of tremendous change for the Nature Conservancy of Canada (NCC). These picture-perfect postcards represent just a few snapshots from our year of transformation. Read our stories here, or dive deeper into our annual report here.

John Lounds,
President & CEO

Loading

It’s hard to believe that just over 35 years ago the burrowing owl was declared locally extinct in British Columbia. I’m so excited that NCC’s Sage and Sparrow Conservation Area is a successful burrowing owl reintroduction site. I saw one of these charming birds when I was out on the land the other day!

Barb Pryce,
Program Director, Southern Interior

Loading

This year’s Gathering for Nature in Bunchberry Meadows was so inspiring. To spend a day with more than 50 women of influence and celebrate conservation was splendid. I can’t think of a more perfect day!

Jaimee Mozoroff,
Manager, Conservation Parkland and Grasslands, Northeast Alberta

Loading

I can’t believe that this year marks two decades of protecting the heritage grasslands here. In addition to a great name (who wouldn’t want to visit a place called Old Man on His Back?) it’s also home to more than 100 genetically pure plains bison. It really is a beautiful slice of Saskatchewan.

Alan MacDonald,
NCC Board Member in Saskatchewan

Loading

I think the western prairie fringed orchid might be my new favourite flower! This year we confirmed that NCC has protected habitat for a quarter of the world's population of prairie orchids — and that's something to be pretty proud of!

Cary Hamel,
Conservation Science Manager

Loading

This year I witnessed endangered loggerhead shrikes pass through the Scheck Nature Reserve. Even though they’re small and delicate-looking, their hunting skills are like nothing you’ve ever seen before! I’m so glad each time I catch a glimpse of this charming and rare bird. And I’m so happy to see it thrive.

Mark Stabb,
Program Director,
Central Ontario Conservation

Loading

If you haven’t found yourself surrounded by the rare and remarkable bog fern, you’re missing out! Visit wetlands in Saint-Georges-de-Clarenceville and you’ll be in one of only three places in Quebec where this amazing plant is found. Amazing, right!?

Carine Deland,
Natural Area Conservation Planning Manager

Loading

The Foxner Nature Reserve is a huge win for the Nature Conservancy of Canada. It’s the largest-ever private land conservation project in New Brunswick and our first in the famous Miramichi River Watershed, which boasts one of the largest Atlantic salmon populations in North America. You have to experience the fall colours of the Acadian forest here!

Paula Noel,
New Brunswick Program Director

Loading

It’s so wonderful to see the former home of the Island Park Hotel — PEI’s first summer resort — now protected for wildlife. It’s only a short boat ride from Summerside, but is so untouched and wild, it feels like a world away! I spotted an endangered red knot on its fall migration.

Julie Vasseur,
PEI Program Director

Loading

What a fantastic way to celebrate Earth Day in Nova Scotia! We announced the donation of forested land —home to more than 600 magnificent eastern white cedars and one of only a handful of cedar forests. The conservation of this area should be such an enormous help in protecting this at-risk tree species.

Craig Smith,
Nova Scotia Program Director

Loading

Birding on NCC’s Salmonier Nature Reserve was definitely the highlight of my trip. I spotted red crossbills and olive-sided flycatchers, both species at risk, and learned that the property is home to globally rare and threatened lichens! This beautiful boreal forest on the Avalon Peninsula is not to be missed!

Megan Lafferty,
Atlantic Region Conservation Biologist

tourner la carte
Chargement

« Il n’existe rien de constant si ce n’est le changement », comme le dit un proverbe. Voilà qui est vrai dans la nature comme au sein des organisations. Cette année, les changements ont été considérables à Conservation de la nature Canada (CNC). Ces splendides cartes postales vous en donneront un aperçu. Renseignez-vous sur nos réalisations ici ou consultez la version complète de notre rapport annuel.

John Lounds
Président et chef de la direction

Chargement

Il est difficile de croire qu’il y a à peine 35 ans, la chevêche des terriers était déclarée disparue de la Colombie-Britannique. Je suis ravie que le site de réintroduction de cette espèce, établi dans l’aire de conservation Sage and Sparrow de CNC, soit une réussite! J’y ai d’ailleurs aperçu une de ces charmantes chouettes l’autre jour!

Barb Pryce
Directrice des programmes - Région Intérieur-sud

Chargement

Le Rassemblement pour la nature de Bunchberry Meadows a été particulièrement inspirant cette année! Passer la journée en compagnie de plus de 50 femmes d’influence et célébrer la conservation de la nature a été sensationnel. Aucune journée aussi parfaite ne me vient à l’esprit!

Jaimee Mozoroff
Directrice de la conservation Forêts-parcs et Prairies - Nord-est de l’Alberta

Chargement

Je n’arrive pas à croire que cette année marque deux décennies de travail de conservation des prairies patrimoniales. En plus d’avoir un nom superbe (qui n’aimerait pas visiter un endroit qui s’appelle Old man on His Back, ou « le vieil homme sur son dos »?), cette aire sert d’habitat à près de 100 bisons des plaines génétiquement purs. Ce coin de la Saskatchewan est magnifique.

Alan MacDonald
Membre du conseil d’administration - Région de la Saskatchewan

Chargement

Je crois que la platanthère blanchâtre de l’Ouest est ma nouvelle fleur favorite! Cette année, nous avons pu confirmer que CNC a protégé des habitats abritant le quart de la population mondiale de cette rare orchidée... Il y a de quoi être fier!

Cary Hamel
Directeur scientifique de la conservation

Chargement

Cette année, j’ai pu observer des pies-grièches migratrices, une espèce en péril, traverser la réserve naturelle Scheck. Malgré leur petite taille et leur allure gracieuse, leur talent de chasse est hors du commun! Je suis ravi chaque fois que j’aperçois cet oiseau rare et si charmant. Quelle joie de le voir prospérer!

Mark Stabb
Directeur des programmes - Région Centre de l’Ontario

Chargement

Si vous ne vous êtes jamais retrouvé entouré de thélyptères simulatrices, une espèce de fougère rare et remarquable, vous passez à côté d’une expérience unique! Visitez les milieux humides de Saint-Georges-de-Clarenceville et vous serez dans l’un des trois seuls endroits au Québec où se trouve cette magnifique plante. Incroyable, n’est-ce pas?

Carine Deland
Directrice - Planification de la conservation des aires naturelles

Chargement

La réserve naturelle Foxner est une réussite incontestable pour Conservation de la nature Canada. Il s’agit du plus vaste projet de conservation privé au Nouveau-Brunswick et de notre premier projet dans le bassin versant de la rivière Miramichi, qui compte une des plus importantes populations de saumon atlantique de l’Amérique du Nord. Les couleurs automnales de la forêt acadienne sont à ne pas manquer!

Paula Noel
Directrice des programmes - Région du Nouveau-Brunswick

Chargement

C’est merveilleux de voir que l’ancien hôtel Island Park, le premier centre de villégiature de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, est maintenant protégé pour les espèces sauvages. L'île est à quelques minutes de bateau de Summerside, mais l’endroit est si intact et sauvage qu’on s'imagine très loin! J’y ai aperçu un bécasseau maubèche en pleine migration automnale.

Julie Vasseur
Directrice des programmes - Région de l’Î.-P.-É.

Chargement

Quelle belle façon de célébrer le Jour de la Terre en Nouvelle-Écosse! Nous avons en effet annoncé le don d’un terrain forestier, abritant plus de 600 magnifiques thuyas occidentaux et l’une des rares forêts de thuyas. La conservation de cette aire contribuera de façon significative à la protection de cette espèce d’arbres en péril.

Craig Smith
Directeur des programmes - Région de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Chargement

Observer les oiseaux dans la réserve naturelle Salmonier est sans contredit un moment fort de mon voyage! J’ai aperçu deux espèces en péril, soit des becs-croisés des sapins et des moucherolles à côtés olive. J’ai aussi appris que la propriété abrite des lichens très rares (à l’échelle mondiale) et menacés. Cette superbe forêt boréale de la péninsule d’Avalon est à ne pas manquer!

Megan Lafferty
Biologiste en conservation - Région de l’Atlantique